The Land of Nod, by Gary Hoover, can be found at his website http://www.landofnodtrilogy.com and can be purchased online through smashwords at https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/24547

Jeff is a young boy who lost his father a year ago.  While looking through his father’s office, he is transported to a strange new and dangerous world.  He soon discovers that though futuristic (flying cars and disappearing toilet seats), society is in trouble and war is coming, whether they like it or not.

I really enjoyed this story.  I'm a massive fan of quirky and this tends to slip into this young adult adventure to catch the reader pleasantly by surprise... you'll get what I'm talking about when you read the comment about the purple giraffe.

For me a few too many '...' and there were a few tiny errors that might be picked up with another edit done by someone else (I can't see the mistakes in my own work though and it did not detract from the story itself).

Overall, a good read, highly recommended for young readers looking for an out there adventure!




Leave a Reply.